White Sands

library-3991.jpg

White Sands National Monument, west of Alamagordo, NM, is one of the most stunning places I’ve ever seen. Here are the world’s largest fields of gypsum sand (many dunes rising over 60 feet), which cover an area of nearly 230 square miles. These photos simply cannot do it justice. I’m told that the numerous pools of standing water are very unusual, which added a wonderful dimension to the desert landscape. Hopefully I’ll have better photos once I get a roll of film developed (yes, I’m still using a film camera, a Nikon N80 to be precise), but in the meantime, click these to enlarge.

library-3996.jpg

I’ll be flying back to NYC tomorrow.

2 Responses to White Sands

  1. AHCB says:

    A beautiful shot!

Leave a Reply

